Safety First!!????????

26 Sep

Ft. Stewart in an effort to improve the safety on and around its highway’s they ( and “they” are usually right on the money but, not this time) came up with a BRILLIANT campaign( insert catchy sarcastic phrase here…) to help eliminate unsafe drivers!!!
Well… 
I guess the only way to explain this is its an ADD’s WORST nightmare!   I am going to try and explain this the best I can. 
On the side of the highway they have these brown rectangular signs, that have these (blah) sayings… 
Example and I will para-phrase it( cause off the top of my head I cannot remember what they say). 

If your

Favorite flower

is a Daisy

Then keep

On driving

Fast

Safety First!!!!!
signed your loving General

Scratches head…
I didn’t get it at first.  Not only are these signs VERY distracting cause they are at eye level but, they want you to read every single one cause of the VERY “thought” provoking message.  They are everywhere on this stretch of highway!   I even turned around and went back and re-read some of the signs cause I totally missed the meaning.  Did I mention I do have some OCD’s?
Never mind I was driving and never mind I was supposed to be concentrating on the road(I was not)
(Does the frown face)
Daisy’s are funeral flowers (news to me!!!)??
Then my other half brought up a really good point.  You know “those” drivers that do not have hand eye coordination… 
What if they swerve off the road trying to read the signs?  Safety First they say!? 
Hmm… I honestly think they need to re think that!
Ft. Stewart gets two thumbs up for safety ( again add catchy sarcastic phrase!)

5 Responses to “Safety First!!????????”

  1. Jenny September 26, 2007 at 10:13 pm #

    I checked and couldn’t find anything about daiseys symbolising death (although this is a cool site about meanings of flowers: http://www.new-age.co.uk/flower-language.htm). I think it’s a reference to the saying that when you’re dead you’re “Pushing up daiseys”

  2. tophataffairs September 26, 2007 at 10:26 pm #

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH OK! Then the person that told me is WRONG… HEHEHEHE… Let me check pushing daisey’s…

  3. Jenny September 27, 2007 at 2:05 am #

    Well, I love daiseys; I’d hate to see their reputation sullied 🙂

  4. Jenny September 27, 2007 at 2:06 am #

    Well, I love daiseys; I’d hate to see their reputation sullied 🙂

  5. Shannon September 29, 2007 at 4:11 am #

    Now that is funny (not in the haha sense)**cough**STUPID..so by adding these signs so we can read them takes our attention off the road and that is what we should be focusing on. Makes you wonder who and why some ppl come up with strange things.

Leave a Reply

