Forgive and forget…

7 Dec

“Meredith: [narrating]
Forgive and forget. That’s what they say. It’s good advice, but it’s not very practical. When someone hurts us, we want to hurt them back. When someone wrongs us, we want to be right. Without forgiveness, old scores are never settled… old wounds never heal. And the most we can hope for, is that one day we’ll be lucky enough to forget.”

Can we really do this?  I work hard on a daily basis to do this… 
Forgive and forget! It’s not as easy as it sounds… 
I can give you the most recent time I did just forgive and forget…  Ever have somebody come from your past and it just floors you? 
I know I did. Honestly what I should have done was cuss this person out…  Instead what I did was hold out the white flag, and on boy and I glad I did!  Upon hearing this person’s story I could not help but feel empathy for him. 
Why didn’t I shut the doors? 
Because this person was part of my growth.  and actually is he part of the reason I am who I am today.  I love the person I have become( for the most part).  So, how could I be bitter at this person for helping me mold me? 
I couldn’t .. 
This person wronged me yes,  but, I wasn’t without my wrong doings either!  I am sure it took a great deal of guts to contact me.  No, we are not going to be best friends.  And we are not going to contact each other on a daily basis.  At most we will be fair weather acquaintances. 
Forgive and Forget? 
Yes!  
JUST AS LONG AS YOU DO NOT LOSE THE LESSON YOU LEARNED! 
Use your mental shredder( Thank you April ) And better your life.  Forgiving and Forgetting is possible just make sure you have give yourself time to heal. 
You might as when is that? 
Well…
We are all different… 
Just try to not be bitter for too long.  You have way to much life ahead of you to lose time on being bitter…
And you might ask how in the hell do you know?
Because I wasted YEARS of my life hating, being bitter and hating life… I was miserable!
And I never want to be that person ever again!!! 

2 Responses to “Forgive and forget…”

  1. jenny December 11, 2007 at 4:59 am #

    I’m all about the forgiveness, but the forgetting… never. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.

  2. Dolores December 11, 2007 at 3:19 pm #

    I can understand… But, for me and this is only me… I in a way have to forget… Because honestly if I didn’t “shed” things then WOW… I would be very bitter and angry… I know people like that and they are miserable! I don’t want to be like that… For me I cannot balance the two… 😀

Leave a Reply

