What makes a good Christian?

7 Dec

UPDATE
10.10.10
Since this blog has been posted I emailed an apology to this person, I can admit when I was wrong…  I was wrong to attack this person.  What is right is right.  It was the good Christian thing to do.   She in return forgave me for my awful behavior because, that’s what Christian women do.  We admit our weakness and forgive when we are wrong. 

I honestly try and stay away from topics that might be offensive to people.  But, this is something that has been plaguing me for a while now.  I got into an altercation with a women who proclaims herself to be on fire for God.  She has it all over her profile and she lift Jesus name up over and over again on her blogs and profile’s…  YET..  She has Very provocative pictures up with her posing in a suggestive manner with a see through shirt( you can see her undergarments)…  She has pictures of her drunk, coming in late and in her blogs she proclaims to be promiscuous…
I honestly didn’t think anything of it.  People show their Christianity in many different ways and it’s not up to me to say if that person is right or wrong. 
Until it got personal…
I saw something that I THOUGHT jeopardized the integrity of my marriage.  I had questions…  So, I went to the source her…  I wasn’t going to go to my husband. 
Maybe, OK, not MAYBE I should have approached it differently but, here are some of the responses I got.  And I QUOTE
Maybe the best thing is to reflect on our personal transgressions than trying to be intraspective of others. Your time I am assured would be better served on that task.. than be perplexed about your husband’s past.. If the words are too big.. use the dictionary..”

Now if could have ended with a simple have a nice day…  But she felt she needed to stick the knife in deeper because she felt I “wronged” her…  By a simple inquiry..
Onto more…
edited

“My faith stands firm, My God knows my heart, and it is people who cast stones at glass houses who recieve the biggest shards of glass. I never spoke to you in any manner that would be considered unchristian like.. clearly stating a point.. . believe me girl.. I am not self-rightous as you proclaim.. I am not concieted.. I am convienced. Sweetie.. Look at my profile and my picture… Do I look as if I need to even remotly need to spend on extra second on a past lover?? Sweetie.. My days are always awesome.. My life is glorious.. and yes I will have an awesome day.. by the grace and mercy of God.. Thank you

Well, As I said before…  Does God want us showing pictures of us drunk?  Does he want us half naked?  Does he want us to be vain?  Does he want us to make fun of people?  Or does God want us to shower people with love who wronged us? Jesus showed Mary Magelin love when she was going to be stoned to death. 
And another thing… 
She did write my husband suggestive text messages AND she did email him letting him know she was moving closer and maybe they should “HOOK UP” again cause they had such a GREAT time the last time they did… 
AFTER WE WERE MARRIED…
And we have more…

WEll we all know was assumptions mean.. And quite frankly it is not for you to judge.. especially with my personal life.
Jealous much?? If all you can find is make up issues..wow.. I am blessed but that is all in your judgement.. ANd lets see EASY… would that be that I can get a date at a blink of an eye?? or trap a man by getting pregnant?? and having him marry me?? wow.. looks like we need some parenting classess.. OH MY .. this is ridiculous.. I know you know XXX.. I know all about you.. believe me WAYYYYYY before you knew about me.. How it appears you follow my circles.. and yet those guys that you proclaim my easiness with.. still to this day persue me.. and profess love, by gifts, adoration and friendship.. May you find what you seek in this empty banter between us.. be happy, enjoy your children.. please just find peace within yourself to know that to truly be little and feel inferior to someone else .. you must give your consent… this my dear friend you do not have.. for my cup runneth over.. and my happiness will not be dampend by the darts you have tried to throw my way to make yourself feel better about your circumstances… sorry..

Can anybody tell me if this is how God really wants us to behave?  This person who wrote me this…  Doesn’t even have custody of her children… She wrote up above about casting stones into glass houses…  Isn’t that what she did to me?  She judged me by how she is….
I am a Christian and I can admit I am not a really good one.  But, I can tell you this.  This exchange was not was I was expecting.  People who really are with the presense of God really have a humblenes to them.  And this person does not.  So, I am going to open this up and ask honestly what makes a Good Christian?

13 Responses to “What makes a good Christian?”

  1. Jenny December 11, 2007 at 4:55 am #

    In general, I have noticed that the people who feel the need to loudly proclaim at every opportunity what good “Christians” they are tend to be the people whose behavior is furthest from my understanding of what being a Christian involves. Rather than serving as a integral part of their day to day life and actions, their faith seems to be something they put on with their Sunday morning best and tuck back away as soon as they leave the sanctuary (unless they think it will help them score points in an argument, because who’s going to argue with God?). Generally those people get on my nerves and I avoid them as much as possible.

    The most Christian people I have been fortunate enough to meet seem to have a deeply personal relationship with their faith and it touches every aspect of their lives. However, they rarely bring it up unless asked. Rather than shouting about how “Christian” they are, they allow people to come to draw their own conclusions based on their actions and their treatment of others.

    A churchgoer does not a Christian make…

    That said, I fully agree with Benjamin Franklin when he said “Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.”

  2. Dolores December 11, 2007 at 3:20 pm #

    Thank you!!!!

  3. Christine December 17, 2007 at 8:24 pm #

    Maybe the best people dont proclaim themselves to be anything other than human… it isnt about religon its about how you treat everyone … being human is difficult. In my opinion this quote says everything…
    “We are, each of us angels with only one wing; and we can only fly by embracing one another.”
    Luciano de Crescenz

  4. Jenny December 18, 2007 at 1:15 am #

    Christine,
    That’s a beautiful quote.

  5. Michael October 9, 2010 at 6:01 am #

    A Christian is someone who believes that Jesus is God. They are no better or worse than anyone else. Audultary is a sin, make no mistakes, but if audultary occured then it is a sin shared by your husband. He is the one that wronged you, and your argument should be with him. Where is the scripture that says one should abstian from alcahol? Where is the scripture that says one should not post a photo on the internet? Deal with what has really happened and not what you think has happened.

    • My Inner Muse October 10, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

      Everything I stated was fact.. My husband and I are very open about our past realationships and we know everything that we have know about each other past’s.
      To be a Person on fire for God, you have to lead by example.
      My husband did not commit adultry with this woman… He had realations before we were married. The point I was making was… Again, IF you are going to proclaim yourself as a “Christian” you need to lead a lifestyle condusive to Christian living. That does not include sleeping around, posting provacative pictures, or being judgmental or mean… My apology to her was the nature of my approach. And was very unchritian like.

  6. Heather October 25, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    You know what totally pisses me off about “organized religion?” It’s people who feel the need to use the name of God/Jesus to press their own personal agendas. I think the Lord responds to our actions louder than He responds to us cussing someone out in “His name!”

    This is why I’m a church dropout. Because we were unwelcome…you know, when you have the “special” child, you are not allowed to be fed the Word. Because…you’re a constant distraction, evidently.

    I’m bitter..a little! 😉

    • My Inner Muse October 25, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      Amen! Which is what I said… If you are going to say God this and God that.. You’d better be playing the part… And not be showing your ghetto fabulous booty all over town as well as your being proud of your little black book! 😉 Am I wrong?

      You know what is super funny about this blog… Is that I was bitter too! I needed to lash out! And I did! And one of my husband’s “ex’s” got it… Because I couldn’t lash out at the people I wanted to!
      And I had forgotten all about this blog… Untill I got this random drive by comment! Ha Ha! I was bitter! I was angry! I was upset! I was a buncha different things! Post Partum Depression… Just to name one! I can admit that now which is why I apologized!

      I am not a big fan of organized religon…

  7. Dave S November 2, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    What is a good Christian?

    Its says in the Bible to love the lord your God with all you heart, mind , and soul. AND the second is thjust as equal as the first. That is to love your neighbor as yourself.

    So, possibly a “good christian” is to love God and love the people.
    Many times it is easier said than done.
    We all want o do this but ourselves get in the way.

    • My Inner Muse November 5, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

      Thank you, I think that is a very profound message! I appreciate that!!

  8. chase April 5, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    people sometimes are blinded by the own stick in their eye. the bible says many will cry saying lord lord but they will n ot be able to enter. all who proclaim to serve god will not enter into the gates of heaven. the bible clearly states how a woman should be dressed. and sounds to me like this woman is fornicating and this is an abomination in gods eyes. the bible says its a death wish. to be a good christian in my eyes is serving god with all your mind body and soul. and lifting him up at all times. many people confess to love god with their mouth but like the bible says their heart is far from it. the bible also says to not be conformed to this world. we are apart of this world but not of it because we have been bought by the blood of the lamb.. the bible also says that your body ia a holy temple where gods presence dwells and when your doing things that are of the world and not godly then your causeing god to do bad things because he is within you. and if people feel its not wrong to do something and they have no conviction then they honestly have not truly givin their lives to god because their has been no change.

  9. Jorge Jaramillo May 25, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more with Jenny. Real Christians doesn’t brag and spit out the name of Jesus as some sort of excuse for our actions. Real Christians talk with their actions. With love and consideration for others. I believe you were every right to be upset. I think your a hell of a woman for being able to apologize to her.

    • My Inner Muse May 25, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      It wasn’t easy to swallow humble pie.. In many ways I was right… But my reasons for the attack were very wrong! Thank you so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

