Honorable Mention… Quoteable Quotes…

26 Feb

From Rocky Balboa:

“Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place and it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t ’bout how hard you hit; it’s about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward. How much you can take, and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done. Now, if you know what you’re worth, then go out and get what you’re worth. But you gotta be willing to take the hit, and not pointing fingers saying you ain’t where you are because of him, or her, or anybody. Cowards do that and that ain’t you. You’re better than that!”

Adurey Hepburn:

“I believe in manicures. I believe in overdressing. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day, and I believe in miracles!” ~Audrey Hepburn

Sex and the City:

Carrie: Later that day I got to thinking about relationships. There are those that open you up to something new and exotic, those that are old and familiar, those that bring up lots of questions, those that bring you somewhere unexpected, those that bring you far from where you started, and those that bring you back. But the most exciting,
challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.

3 Responses to “Honorable Mention… Quoteable Quotes…”

  1. Jenny February 27, 2008 at 4:39 am #

    Here’s a few more for you:

    You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing you think you cannot do.
    Eleanor Roosevelt (1884 – 1962)

    I, with a deeper instinct, choose a man who compels my strength, who makes enormous demands on me, who does not doubt my courage or my toughness, who does not believe me naïve or innocent, who has the courage to treat me like a woman.
    Anaïs Nin (1903 – 1977)

    Being powerful is like being a lady. If you have to tell people you are, you aren’t.
    Margaret Thatcher (1925 – )

    Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.
    Oscar Wilde (1854 – 1900)

  2. tophataffairs February 29, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    I REALLy like those! I will those in next week’s HMQQ

  3. Jenny March 1, 2008 at 1:06 am #

    I usually like anything by Oscar Wilde. He’s one of my favorite dead literary smartasses…

Leave a Reply

