Sat. 16th…

26 Feb

Was the one of the  Groves’s girls first last birthday…  So, she had a dual birthday party for both of her youngest girls.  They were born 51 weeks apart…  So on the week of Valentines… They are the same age…  Yep wrap your mind around that!

I almost did not go! 

And I have to be honest with you guys as too why… 
My two oldest children are in the  autism `spectrum.  Which means that their social skills are affected and they can come across as unruly, rude or what ever other preconceived notion one might have of children in the spectrum.   Don’t get me wrong April’s family has been wonderful when it comes to embracing my children so, it’s not like we haven’t had play dates before… 
It’s my own mental (road block)  It was something I needed to get over. 
Everything in baby steps….  So, what did I do?  I jumped right in the fire… HAHA

I have to tell you what the night held… 
Birthday cake… 
Presents being opened…
Children laughing and talking about Webkinz

Adults catching up on life in general…  Even though April and I see each other on a weekly basis we are like too passing ships…  We say hi bye and see you soon…  With the promise to call and then before you know it… BAM the week is over and no phone calls…  It’s Called LIFE!!  The really cool thing about April and I is when the business hats come off…  We can pick up right were we left off!  You don’t find girlfriends like that everyday!
The night had mnay high points but, as a mommy let me tell you what was one of mine…  My children ( all of them…)  Behaved beautifully!  When you live day to day with Autism…  you never know what to expect.  
Saturday the 16th I was so proud of them!  They  played well with the other children, they said please and thank you…  And most of all ( YAY )  Victoria didn’t have ANY MELT DOWNS….
I could not have asked for a better day all the way around GREAT COMPANY!  GOOD TIMES!  And AWESOME FOOD!!!
I am so happy to have had the privilege to share such an awesome day with April and her family!  What an amazing group of people! 

2 Responses to “Sat. 16th…”

  1. April Groves February 28, 2008 at 10:07 am #

    we are so glad you guys came by! What a fantastic day. And your kids did more than behave – they were a great addition to the festivities. Victoria was a hoot and Chris was such the big man helper with the toys and the babies.

    You are a phenom mom with phenom kids 🙂

  2. tophataffairs February 28, 2008 at 12:03 pm #

    We are glad we came by too! Victoria is very funny!! And the kids cannot stop talking about what a great time they had!! Yeah well your pretty spectacular yourself!!

Leave a Reply

