All the colors of the rainbow! To Sign or Not sign!

9 Mar

Raising a child in the spectrum can create a bit of a language challenge,  a common trait with children in the Autism Spectrum is developmental delay, and if we really want specifics… Children with autism have problems in three  areas of development:
Social
Language 
Behavior.
The more severe children with autism are have a complete inability to communicate or interact with other people.
Because the symptoms of autism vary widely, two children with the same diagnosis may act quite differently and have  different skills. Hence the word spectrum

Speaking from experience it’s a bit of a challenge to try and communicate with you.  What can you do?  First what you have to really get a grasp on what might work for one child MAY NOT work for another one.  It’s really a trial and error kinda of thing.                                                                                        
My daughter is a little bit more severe then my son so, my daughter has presented the biggest challenge even to this day.   What I have done?  We sign.  I what I like to call “crude” signing because, I really do not know the language fluently I got by this this and that.  When you have children who are in and out of therapist you tend to pick up on alot more then what I even gave myself credit for.  Other means of communication are:
1.  Communication board
2.  Sign Language
3.  Software
Researchers are coming up with more and more ways to help children with Autism communicate.  It’s frustrating for both parent and child. 
Hopefully I can get other mothers to blog on the different techniques so, that I can give my view audience more rounded advice.  So, any of you fabulous mommies out there with children in the spectrum I am giving you the chance to come on and write ways you communicate with your child/ren!  
I will be armed with more information for my next installment! 

8 Responses to “All the colors of the rainbow! To Sign or Not sign!”

  1. Cathy March 9, 2008 at 5:55 am #

    I think it’s great that you are trying to use sign with your children! There is a wonderful series called Signing Time that we love! It is the best series of sign language dvds that we have found. Each word is shown on the screen, signed by Rachel Coleman, and then reinforced by other children. They have a cartoon frog as their mascot. I know many parents, who have children with autism, that love these dvds. Please stop by http://www.signingtime.com and visit the forums or just look around at what the site has to offer. Also check your local PBS stations to see if Signing Time airs there. Our local station has recently added more days on at the request of the fans!

    Way to go!!!

  2. FXSmom March 9, 2008 at 4:41 pm #

    I really wanted to sign with Matty. For two years our entire team (PT, ST & OT) worked with him. Matty just never got it. When he started saying words when he was 4 we dropped it and focused more on speech. It still makes me sad that he couldn’t/wouldn’t sign.

    I’m really glad that you guys get to do it 🙂

  3. tophataffairs March 9, 2008 at 5:13 pm #

    We did it alot more when she was a toddler she really responded well to it. But, never really liked the communication board. Now that she is 7 she is pretty much commincating on her own and pretty clear with clear thoughts. EVery onice in awhile she will sign cookie or more or will break out in song.
    My son didn’t speak at all until he was 4 and the dr.’s told me he may never speak. And I kid you not one day he woke up and said, ” Mommy can I have eggs today, I really like them.” You know I am over essagerating but, it was kinda like that…

    Thanks for stopping by.. I love our input!

  4. tophataffairs March 9, 2008 at 5:14 pm #

    Cathy- Thank you for stopping by! I will be checking out that site for my parents!

  5. lookingforlifeshumor March 9, 2008 at 5:17 pm #

    Hang in there – we’re all trying to find the right combination of “what works” for our kids! My son is verbal but it was a struggle – now we wonder why we ever taught him how to speak (especially in the middle of church sermons when he feels “inspired” to ask me loudly why my boobs hang out my chest – but that is another blog altogether!)

  6. tophataffairs March 9, 2008 at 5:22 pm #

    Oh GEESH! HAHA!! You know that is something my son would do. You just sparked another blog! HAHA! Thank you for stopping by! I really hope this is not your last time visting!

  7. christygriner March 11, 2008 at 3:02 am #

    I like the Baby Signs program the best. I have it and Signing Times. B is most responsive to BABY SIGNS. I wish I had enough money to buy the whole set. Do you have a DVD Burner? If so, I could let you burn them. You are such a good mama!

  8. tophataffairs March 11, 2008 at 3:35 pm #

    We did sign when she was completely non verbal but, how she is VERY verbal… But, we sitll sign from time to time… But, yeah I would love to burn them! And try it on the twins! I do it now with them and they kinda look at me like I am mad… HAHA!

Leave a Reply

