Caffeine overload…

17 Mar

I have been dealing with chest pains due to the chest wall( insert big medical terms here and here) blah blah blah…   Well, even with the lortab, things were not getting better, they were getting worse.  So, honey and I did a little trouble shooting…  We took a look at all the caffeine I drank in one day.  Let me walk you through my day:

2 1/2 cups of coffee
a few big glasses of sweet tea( I would say on average about 5-6 glasses )
Then I usually would get a headache sometime during the day so, I would pop a couple of those aspirin/tylenol/caffeine headache pills.  
I have an addiction to crushed ice so, honey would stop and get me one of those HUGE glasses and fill it with none other then cherry coke( I love me some cherry coke ) 
Add in more sweet tea at dinner time and most likely my headache has not gone away so pop me two more of those pills…

Yes that is an average day,  give or take a few sweet tea’s and pills but, you get the point.  So, honey said, “Cut out all caffeine”
I looked at him and said, “your insane.”
 Well, things were not getting any better and we sure as heck could not afford another ER visit.  And it was effecting my everyday life.  So, I did it.  And let me tell you guys something! 
I feel great!! 
No more headaches!  
No more chest pain( they even said my chest pain could be due to my heartburn…)! 
Just as quickly as the chest pain came on it left.  And I have been kinda caffeine free for about a week now.  I thought the withdraw was going to be worse.  It wasn’t. 

When I say kinda I only have one glass of sweet tea or one cup of coffee in the morning.  And I leave it to just that.   I love he taste of coffee and I love sweet tea but, not at the expense of my health! 

Now if we could only fix all tummy troubles and womenly problems I would be in tip top shape!!

7 Responses to “Caffeine overload…”

  1. christygriner March 18, 2008 at 4:19 am #

    I am proud of you! on another note: what do you need wheat grass for? are you doing center pieces, too? i found out that picture was from an event planner in athens/atlanta. she left a comment about it on the blog. she said she got it at whole foods, i think.

  2. Jenny March 19, 2008 at 2:11 am #

    Have you tried decaf? I know there are still trace amounts of caffine in it, but if you really love coffee and tea…

  3. FXSmom March 19, 2008 at 4:47 am #

    Decaf does sound like the way to go. This is probably TMI. Okay it is TMI. But I remember my mom went through a coffee overload when I was a teen. Her boobs got really really mushy. I can’t say how much cuz I didn’t go there but I remember her fretting over it and telling me to watch my caffeine consumption. I’ve been scared of coffee ever since. I still drink it on occassion but I really watch it.

    Good luck fixing this new habit. Breaking away from coffee is not easy.

  4. tophataffairs March 19, 2008 at 9:41 am #

    Christy! Thank you!!
    Yes I am doing centerpiecies and I am going to take pictures and I will post them! I am going to start doing that!!

  5. tophataffairs March 19, 2008 at 9:46 am #

    I haven’t even thought about decaf… 😦 It just feels like I am being cheated! He He… I do love coffee though…

  6. tophataffairs March 19, 2008 at 9:50 am #

    I know all about TMI 😦 And yes I do believe I was having a spells… All I konw is that for about two weeks all production stopped because, I woudl get the chest pain… Thereafter, feel like I was going to puke… Lose my breath and then this overwhelming fatige came over me and we are talking about two weeks feeling like this… GRRR…

    And I DO NOT want mushy boobies… Four kids already did a number to my body I don’t need mushy boobies to add to that! Just another reason to cut out caffiene

  7. Jenny March 19, 2008 at 9:11 pm #

    Feeling cheated, is why I suggested decaf. You can have your coffee and drink it too! P.S. don’t drink the water in upstate New York, it’s got caffine in there with the antidepressants.

Leave a Reply

