Thrusday Thirteen and Post Secret Sunday( I can’t believe I forgot!)

20 Mar

 I keep changing my profile.  I just don’t seem at home here at wordpress…  😦 
I know I said I was going to do authors but, I think I am going to change it up a bit.  Why not?   And I think I am going to dedicate this Thrusday Thirteen to none other then HARRY POTTER!
And here it goes!!
1.  Harry Potter Author is JK Rowling, affectionately known as “Jo” she is a brilliant HUMBLE women  her  story you can read here 

2  Harry Potter has seven books all in all.
HP and the Sorcerers Stone
HP and the Chamber of Secrets
HP and the Prisoner of Azkaban
HP and the Goblet of Fire
HP and the Order of the Phoenix
HP and the Half Blood Prince
HP and the Deathly Hallows
( I did all of that without even looking…  haha)

3.   Hogwarts( The school that Harry attends) has four houses
Gryffindor
Ravenclaw
Hufflepuff
Slytherin
4.  Harry Potter was born in 1980 and he starts school in 1991

5. Believe it or not in Boston, their is going to be a Harry Potter conference…  And I am serious…!  And what is sad is that I think it would be really neat to attend!  I’ve never been to Boston before… ( ha ha)

6.  What is my love affair with Harry Potter? Harry Potter kept my mind off of my divorce, reading  Harry Potter I got to escape into a world of fantasy!  I got to block out everything that was going on around me…  And i got to be happy even if I could only read a few chapters at a time.  As far as I was concerned Harry Potter was “safe”
7.  Ron and Hermione are Harry’s Best Friends

<br
</br

8.  Voldemort is Harry’s enemy…  Voldemorts is half muggle, half wizard

9.  Speaking of muggles, muggles are non-wizarding folks10.  If you read HP do you ever wonder what all those delectable desserts taste like?  I found this from Mugglenet.com
Treacle Fudge is a sweet treat from Mrs. Weasley or a tooth-breaker from Hagrid. Be sure yours doesn’t get too hard! (Many thanks to Aurora for this recipe)
Ingredients:

  • ½ cup light cream or evaporated milk
  • ¾ cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 4 ounces of unsweetened chocolate
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup molasses

Directions:

Step 1: In a large bowl, mix cream, brown sugar and salt together.

Step 2: In a saucepan, melt the chocolate and butter together. Remove from heat and add molasses.

Step 3: Add the chocolate mixtures and cream mixtures together. Pour mixture into a pan and let cool.

Step 4: Cut into squares after cooled and serve. Enjoy!

11.  Name Meanings:
Harry – J.K. Rowling’s favorite boy’s name. The name Harry is of Anglo-Saxon origin and means “power.” There was also a magician named Harry Houdini in the 1900s.
Hedwig – The Saint of Orphans that lived in Germany in the 13th and 14th Century. Means “refuge in battle.” Mentioned in Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.
Hermione – Means “well-born,” “earthy,” or “stone.” Refers to peony-type flowers. The feminine version of Hermes. In Greek mythology, was often known as the patron saint of high magic (no surprise our Hermione is so gifted). She was the daughter of Helen of Troy and King Menelaus of Sparta. In the Aeneid, Hermione was kidnapped by Pyrrhus, but her loving Orestes came and murdered Pyrrhus while he was praying. Hermione is also a character in Shakespeare’s A Winter’s Tale. The character is accused of adultery and dies before the intermission. At the end of the play she is brought out as a statue, and finally returns to life at the very end of the play. A possible connection to her petrification in Chamber of Secrets?
Dumbledore– Means “Bumblebee” in Old English. J.K. Rowling has said that she chose this name because she imagined Dumbledore walking around the castle, humming to himself.
Draco– Draco is a constellation that looks like a dragon but is a snake. In Latin, Draco means “dragon.” There was also a Greek ruler named Draco who developed a system of severe punishments for the smallest of crimes. “Draconian” means “harsh or cruel.” In Romanian, “drac” means “devil.”

12.  When Steven Spielberg was asked to direct the first Harry Potter movies he said No!  But it was rumored that he did ask Jo if he could direct the last few and she said NO!!  Bet he’s kicking himself in the bootay now!

13.  Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (movie) is set to come out Nov 21…(YAY!!)

4 Responses to “Thrusday Thirteen and Post Secret Sunday( I can’t believe I forgot!)”

  1. Suzanne Langley March 21, 2008 at 2:28 am #

    HARRY POTTER!

    The Treacle Fudge sounds great but unfortunately my liking for the Harry Potter series has diminished a little since the last episode…….. pitty because I used to be one of his greatest fans.

    Great blog by the way.

    Cheers.

  2. Justin April 2, 2008 at 12:56 am #

    Can I put that recipe on my blog? I’m a harry potter fan 2 my site is http://www.rayquazaa123.wordpress.com u shud check out the potter puppet pals
    😀

  3. tophataffairs April 2, 2008 at 2:17 am #

    Hey! Thanks for stopping by! Sure you can I got the recipe from Mugglenet.com they have other yummy things on their too!

  4. Justin April 4, 2008 at 2:07 am #

    THX

Leave a Reply

