All The Colors Of The Rainbow– A look at Autism from the INSIDE…

25 Mar

My last post on Autism was a personal one.  And the feed back I got was a little mixed.
What I want to do is clear up some misconceptions,
What I hope is at the end of this blog people can have a  better understanding of  what goes on in a brain of a child with Autsim.
I got some f eedback from people says something along the lines of:
” It’s normal for kids to make fun of other kids…  Remember back when we were kids… 
I was called this and that…” 
Once again I just want to thank you for your input but, unfortunately the diffence between my child and other children is this, “THEY” have “normal” functioning brains. 
And yes, a part of growing up is dealing with the mean kids children say, hell, I STILL have a hard time dealing with the mean things people say about me.  BUT, the point I was trying to make was( and it’s my fault because, I cannot assume everybody knows I am talking about children with autism) we process the mean things people/kids say a little different.  Children who have Autism think differently then we do.  My son appears normal, and talks normal so, in people’s minds he cannot have asburgers( high functioning autism) he then MUST be normal.  Well if adults think this…  What do you think children think?  AND growing up is alot different nowadays then what it was when we were going through school so, honestly that is not a fair compairison either. 
Autism HAS NO OUTWARD SIGNS!!!! 

If you have a conversation with me I can give you all the BIG medical terminology and tell you what parts of the brain is effected, what chemicals may or may not connect…  It’s all very fascinating and I have done a TON of research to understand EXACTLY how my child’s brain works!  So, I am going to explain it to you in a way people can maybe understand.

Think of your brain as a computer with the Internet.  OK? 
The Internet needs all the correct connections to get from here to there right? 
In an autisc brain something doesn’t connect and it takes the information a long to get from point A to point B.  And sometimes it doesn’t take at all. 
So, if you don’t have a good Internet connection you cannot view all those high speed pages with all the neat colors, bells/whistles and plug-ins you can just forget that. 
In an autistic brain MAYBE and I MEAN maybe you might get to load the page without HTML..  In short their brain’s “misfire”…

With that being said.  Things that are effected:  Social skills, verbal, cognitive, gross motor, fine motor.  And then some.  I could go on and on but, I am really hoping you get the picture! 

It’s not that I don’t think my child is not “normal” I don’t know normal( At least right now) is.  I know that he has a harder time dealing with the social situations that come up.  It’s hard being a kid, no doubt!! Imagine trying to be a kid when your brain doesn’t work properly and you appear to be completely normal.

I do really appreciate all the comments please, even if you do not have a child with special needs continue to to comment but, honestly you cannot compare our children( and I say our because, I have mommies on here who have commented who have children with special needs and I consider all part of my A.T.C.O.T.R family) with a “normal” functioning child.  Apples and Oranges but, still the same fruit…

5 Responses to “All The Colors Of The Rainbow– A look at Autism from the INSIDE…”

  1. Robert Michel March 25, 2008 at 1:51 am #

    I just stopped by your blog and thought I would say hello. I like your site design. Looking forward to reading more down the road.

    Robert Michel

  2. tophataffairs March 25, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by!! I hope it’s not your last!

  3. Becky March 26, 2008 at 9:08 pm #

    It’s a hard thing to raise a child on the Spectrum. Ben is a delight, but is also one of the most difficult children I’ve ever met. I wouldn’t change him out for an easier model in a heartbeat, but it can be a real challenge.

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that you’re right, 100% right. Their brains just don’t work the same way, and it’s so hard to remember that some days.

  4. awalkabout May 3, 2008 at 12:05 am #

    If your child has Asperger’s Syndrome, you’re in for quite an adventure. 🙂 My son has it also, and he is nearly 13 and getting ready to go to jr hi in the fall.

  5. tophataffairs May 3, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    Oh,your going to have to keep me updated!

Leave a Reply

