All the Colors of the Rainbow… Jenny Mcarthy Advocate??? OR self promoter???

3 Apr

Playboy pin up Jenny Mccarthy, has a son with Autism. 
Jenny’s son Evan Joseph, born on May 18 2002.  And was dianosed with Autsim May 2007.
I have heard many mixed reviews about her take on things.  I heard she was reckless to say she had found a “cure”. All in all she got alot of backlash.  Personally?  I didn’t see any of her TV interviews. I will admit I am not much of a TV watcher.  I only became one when Honey and I started to live together August of 07.  I digress.  
I will say this about her.  She is a mommy with a child of Autism and is USING her stardom to put it “out there” about our children.  And you know what?  I am OK with that!   What I am NOT OK with is her saying their is a “CURE”.   The glutten free diet worked for her!  Yippee!!  But, how about the millions(YES MILLIONS) of mommies out there that have tried the diet and it did nothing to help??  Dont’  you think if we did have a cure the government would be handing it out by the truck loads?  Especially on the cusp of the vaccine controversy.
McCarthy has a book out. called “ Louder Than Words: A Mother’s Journey in Healing Autism I haven’t read it.  I will get to it eventually… 
Honestly I am on the fence.  Maybe you can help.  Take a look at the links below and then get back to me!  
An “Autism Mom’s” Open Letter to Jenny McCarthy
Then go here:
Guilt, Autism, and Jenny McCarthy
And the letter she is talking about is here

3 Responses to “All the Colors of the Rainbow… Jenny Mcarthy Advocate??? OR self promoter???”

  1. theramblinghousewife April 4, 2008 at 3:42 am #

    I am a little skeptical about Jenny McCarthy’s “cure.” Autism is a spectrum disorder (You know that) How do we not know that her son would not have been on the very high functioning end of the spectrum any way?

    It’s difficult to prove, otherwise . . .

  2. tophataffairs April 4, 2008 at 10:06 am #

    What also, makes my eyebrow go up is that she is saying thier is a “window” of oppurunity. What I can say about that is the eariler your child is diganosed the better off they will be in the long run… For early intervention. Personally I haven’t tried any of the diets, Because I haven’t seen enough evidence that it works one way or another. My children have a hard time eating things as is. When I am told beyond a showdow of a doubt they have a “CURE” then I will most likely jump on the band wagon. The eervices my child gets are just waht they need to help them out. And it’s harder with mine becasue they are verbal and high functioning. My saughter is a little bit lower on the totem pole but, we have brought her out of her shell WITHOUT having to do anything else aside from early intervention and once in awhile pushing her beyond her means… And taking her out of her box… Shrugs…

  3. Tyson Koska July 24, 2008 at 4:06 pm #

    There is no evidence for her to be on this crusade, other than the fact that she has an autistic child and is searching for answers… i’ve written about this a few times in my blog (http://truthisawoman.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

