Lookie what I made today!

8 Apr

From the Pioneer Women Cooks I saw this on her blog today and I ran straight to the kitchen and whipped me up this.  Even though I still feel BLAH from my cold I still had to try it!  And OMG!  YES it is so yummy!!!  Check out her very yummy blog!  I am going to try several more of her recipes!

Pioneer Woman’s Apple Brown Betty

3 apples, preferably Granny Smith
7 slices wheat bread
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) regular/salted butter
1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
3 to 4 tablespoons water

Peel apples and slice them. Slice bread into a small dice, or tear into very small pieces. Coat baking dish with butter, then add 1/3 of the brown sugar, 1/3 of the apple slices, and 1/3 of the breadcrumbs. Repeat twice more, ending with breadcrumbs. Slice butter and lay slices all over the top of the bread crumbs. Sprinkle dish with water and a little more brown sugar, and bake in a 375-degree oven, covered in foil, until done—about 45 minutes. Remove foil in last few minutes of baking to brown the top.

Serve with ice cream, whipped cream, or Reddi Whip, if you’re feeling ornery. Enjoy!

Love,
Pioneer Woman

2 Responses to “Lookie what I made today!”

  1. theramblinghousewife April 10, 2008 at 2:01 am #

    This looks yummy!! And simple!

    It looks like something my husband would LOVE.

    He LOVES apple pie!

  2. tophataffairs April 10, 2008 at 10:29 am #

    it was super yummy

Leave a Reply

