Run me over PLEASE!!!!

10 May

Sarcasm-NOUN:
A cutting, often ironic remark intended to wound.

Not really the definition I was looking for but, You get the point?  In Savannah I am convinced more and more that drivers like to run over people!  ( no sarcasm here…)  Let me tell you why I made such a “slanderous” remark against my beloved city.  A couple of weeks ago…  We had couple of people get hit on a crosswalk( I think I’d better go back and re-read the story) Yes I was right…  click here to read the story. 
Back to yesterday.  I know that a drivers in Savannah have a problem respecting crosswalks…  I on the other hand have NO problem respecting cars…
Here’s my formula-
Me ( even over weight..) + a car in a fight?= Me losing… 

I was walking from Bay Street to River-street- ON A CROSS WALK with  my little man on white with 14 seconds left to cross this man( in a silver Honda civic…) pulls out of his line of traffic and came inches from hitting me and another women  crossing   I was in shock and filter was OFF…  And before I could stop myself all kinds of profanity was spilling out of my mouth:

1st-  YOU JERK I am on a cross walk
2nd-  CREEP YOUR AT A FLIPPIN RED LIGHT
3rd- YOU A-HOLE MY GUY WASN’T even blinking I had plenty of time to cross and you only had about 14 seconds left…
4th-  SUCKER( replace with a F please) WHERE ON EARTH DID YOU HAVE TO GET TO SO FAST THAT YOU WOULD RUN A RED LIGHT…  PUTTING TWO PEOPLE IN DANGER… 
You would have seriously hurt- A mother, A sister, A wife… 
I just wish people would stop and think before they act…

Here’s the funniest part of it all( not really) ..  I was on the phone with my husband and he heard the entire thing… All he kept on saying was “honey…”  “honey… what’s going on….”   Because he knows if my filter comes off in public it has to be bad…  But, on the flip side..  Can you imagine being on the phone with somebody you care about and listening to them being hit by a car? 

Savannah has a BIG problem.  In general. 
Me? 
I believe in the pedestrian having the right of way…  It’s courteous…   And being on the other side it can get annoying but…  I have respect for life.  Which I guess seems to be a BIG problem in this city… 

Don’t get me wrong I do love my city!  It’s awesome.  If you do happen to come.  Just be weary ifyou are a pedestrians be weary of cars and stay on the crosswalk…  No matter what a car will trump a person every-time!

Leave a Reply

