I’ve been talkin ****

29 Nov

I have an albatross to face!  Running 5k’s is cake.  I sign up, I show up, I get the t-shirt, I either bring it or I don’t…  Right? 
This weekend is the Savannah, GA Bridge Run.  Just thinking about it, my heart is racing, my palms are sweating, and I think I might puke before I finish this.  I am terrified of bridges.  I mean scared to death!  I want to run this race soooooooo BAD!!!!!!!!! 

This race will not be about running, it will be about conquering a fear.  I will not worry about time, speed or anything…  I will worry about surviving…  And just making it across the bridge…  My albatross…  I haven’t signed up for the race yet…  So, Here’s what I propose.  IF by the 1st.  The race is not closed.  I will sign up.  No turning back!  I will come in do the race.  Hope I don’t faint…  Or puke… 

Should I take a Xanax?
Should I take a paper bag?
Seriously guys I am freaking out…
What should I do?  How does one prepare it’s self when it’s trying to conquer something that has paralyzed them for so long? 
I am asking for words of wisdom… 
This is huge for me! 
I’m kicking ass and taking names….!! 

(no seriously HELP!!)

7 Responses to “I’ve been talkin ****”

  1. Jenny November 29, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    What is it about bridges that freaks you out?

  2. Dolores November 29, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    No clue… If I knew I wouldn’t be afraid of them! I think it’s time for me to come face to face…

  3. Veronica Zeigler November 29, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    Wow girl, nothing like trying to conquering a great fear in one swoop. I’m terrified of snakes. There was a time when I could not even see them in pictures. I started little, baby steps. Now, I can see them in pictures and tv. I actually forced myself to watch one in my patio for a while. How about starting small. Walking small, short bridges. Ones not to high of the ground. Or maybe, if you want to conquer this one, have someone drive you back and forth on the one the race is going to take place. Once you are done with that and feel more comfy you can walk some onto the bridge (if they have a people designated sidewalk) with someone who can hold your hand and help you through it. There is no easy answer. Only you know how fast this can be conquered.

    • My Inner Muse November 29, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

      Hey Veronica! I have driven over the bridge, I have walked over small bridges… I think this is the next step… I just have to take the band aid off quick… Ugh!! I am breaking out in a sweat just thinking about it. Year after year I have watched runners do the bridge run, and year after year I have said “next year” I think this is my year…!! I have to do this! Who knows where I will be next year? 😉 I just have to take the band aid off fast! Just pray for me Ok!! And if you hear of a girl in Savannah GA that got to the top of the bridge and froze… It’s me… HAHAHA!!

  4. Veronica Zeigler November 30, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Then go for it :-). I would just recommend to run in the middle of the pack and concentrate on the shirt/# of the person infront of you. I will definitely will be praying for you.

    • My Inner Muse November 30, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

      Thanks! I plan on just staying in the middle and putting on my tunes and just going and not looking back! I am better today then what i was yesterday… Let’s see how I am on Friday..

  5. Shannon November 30, 2010 at 5:08 am #

    Yeah xanax will definitely calm the nerves. You can look at it 2 ways. Have Jason walk it with you and he can encourage and give you pep talks to get you over this hurdle or run like hell over it to get to the other side. Call me or someone and focus on the conversation your having and not on what your doing. You get me locked up in a small room and I will flip the f*** out. So you have to do what you are able to do even if you can’t get over the whole bridge maybe do part of it

Leave a Reply

